Dallas ISD Honors Campus Teachers of the Year

Exemplary Dallas ISD teachers from each of the district’s 230 campuses were honored in the fall during a recognition ceremony at Frontiers of Flight Museum.

The teachers named as Campus Teachers of the Year were chosen by the personnel at their schools, the district said in a press release, and a new rule required that the teacher of the year couldn’t win if they had won in the past three years. 

Each winner received a medal to commemorate the honor and is now eligible to apply for the Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year award, where one elementary teacher and one secondary teacher will win district-wide honors.

Dallas ISD Superintendent Michael Hinojosa referenced the impact teachers had after the Oct. 20 tornadoes when congratulating the teachers. 

“We do a great job for these students, and that’s why I am so proud of you,” he said. “We’re honored to be here with you.”

Among those honored was Joy Nzeadibe, a 23-year Dallas ISD veteran who teaches preschool children with disabilities at Pershing Elementary, which saw damage from the tornado. Pershing’s students learned at Alfred J. Loos fieldhouse for four days following the storm. 

“It’s important that we recognize publicly those people that work hard to provide the best educational opportunities,” her principal, Lourdes Morales, said. “That motivates other people to work hard and contribute with everything that they have.”

Nzeadibe said joy and kindness drive her teaching.

“I put in the kind of effort, with joy, with singing, dancing, all the way. And the children recognize that they can learn by what I do,” she said. “It doesn’t matter who you are. You can learn. I believe that every child is able to learn. But you have to put love into it, and gradually they’re going to start picking it up.”

Other Preston Hollow-area teachers honored include: Pamela Moschioni with Dealey Montessori, Natalie Sharp with Kramer Elementary, Alissa Rasmussen with K.B. Polk Center for Academically Talented and Gifted, Marina Medina with Preston Hollow Elementary, Alejandra Gomez with Walnut Hill Elementary, Elizabeth Holguin with Sudie Williams Talented and Gifted Academy, Rickey Townsend with Franklin Middle School,  Joseph Bruno with Longfellow Career Exploration Academy, Karina Sotomayor with Hillcrest High School, and Michelle Pierce with W.T. White High School. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *