What’s New in 2018?

Debbie Burt is the new principal for Hyer Elementary and Betsy Cummins is the new principal for Armstrong Elementary. Burt comes to HPISD from Allen ISD, where she was principal at Vaughan Elementary and GATE (Gifted and Talented) Academy. Cummins, a former Armstrong Teacher of the Year, was principal at Abbett Elementary School in Garland ISD.

Faculty Honors
Donna Pierce, the Highland Park ISD Planetarium director, and astronomy teacher, will be honored this September by the Southwest Jewish Congress’ first-time lifetime achievement award.

The Southwest Jewish Congress will present both Pierce and Today Foundation president Gary Griffin at its Texas Sized Event on Sept. 6 at Eddie Deen’s Ranch in downtown Dallas.

Event planners said Pierce was selected for its Audrey Kaplan Inspiring Women Lifetime Achievement Award due to her dedication to mentoring young people and to working with the local, national, and International Planetarium Society. Pierce has taken HPISD students to visit The University of Texas’ McDonald Observatory since 1983 when she founded the high school’s Astronomy Club.

University Park students returned to their former campus where a newly built elementary awaited them, while Hyer students will attend classes the next two years at the unnamed, fifth elementary campus. Bradfield students are meeting at the Hyer building while their school is rebuilt this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *