Chapasko Named DISD Principal of The Year

Photo Courtesy of DISD

Congratulations are in order for the 2011 Principal of the Year, David Peter Chapasko of Preston Hollow Elementary. The news was announced today at a luncheon honoring the three finalists. Shanna Burton, associate principal at E.D. Walker Middle School, won top her honors for her position as well.

We wrote about Chapasko’s accomplishments, including the school’s first “exemplary” rating by the Texas Education Agency, in the May 6 edition of Preston Hollow People. If you don’t have one of those handy, then slap yourself on the wrist and go to jump for the DISD press release.


Top Administrator Celebrated for Dedication and Achievements

DALLAS—David Chapasko, principal at Preston Hollow Elementary School, is the Dallas ISD 2011 Principal of the Year. Superintendent of Schools Michael Hinojosa and District 3 Trustee Bruce Parrott presented the award at a ceremony recognizing the district’s top administrators. Chapasko was awarded a $2,500 cash prize for the honor.

Chapasko began his career as an educator more than 30 years ago, having started out as a high school teacher and coach. Today, he is in his 18th year as a principal, having spent the last four years at Preston Hollow where he has led his school to an Exemplary rating.

“Being a part of the amazing team that transformed our school into a Professional Learning Community with academic excellence is very rewarding,” said Chapasko.

When Chapasko arrived at Preston Hollow, the school was in need of new leadership after going through a difficult period, and the highest rating the school had ever received was Acceptable. In a year’s time, the school moved up to Recognized and has continued its upward trend toward academic excellence under his steady leadership.

“Our students, teachers, parents and staff beam with pride when they show everyone our school state report card: Exemplary rating with Gold Performance awards in reading, math, writing, science and attendance,” said Chapasko.

Preston Hollow has racked up a long list of academic achievements including being named to the National Excellence in Urban Education Honor Roll; selected as a State Reading First Demonstration Site; and honored with a Texas Business and Education Coalition Award.

“Our students’ success is due in large part to the people who work closely with them every day—our amazing teachers,” said Chapasko.  “High expectations and exceptional habits of mind are a standard mindset not only for our educators, but for all our students, so that we may be high achievers in all aspects of our lives and not just a state assessment.”

Chapasko adds that he enjoys working with students and seeing the proud look on their faces when they accomplish a challenging task. “Being principal at our wonderful school, I feel simply blessed.”

Chapasko received his Master of Educational Administration degree from East Texas State University in Commerce (currently Texas A&M University-Commerce). He has a Bachelor of Science in Health and Physical Education degree from East Stroudsburg University, East Stroudsburg, PA. Chapasko has earned 66+ hours toward a doctoral program from Texas A&M University-Commerce.

A selection committee composed of past Principal of the Year and Teacher of the Year winners, Dallas ISD Teen Board students and other district staff chose the winners after reviewing each

candidate’s nomination packet and conducting site visits and interviews. Winners are chosen based on

their leadership skills and management effectiveness; parental and community involvement initiatives; and for their professional relationship with students, parents, staff and community.

Principals Michael Paschall, Casa View Elementary School, and Jonathan Smith, Edna Rowe Elementary School were recognized as 2011 Principal of the Year finalists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *